There are two groups in Public Works – General Management and Administration. One group, made up of the Public Works Director and the Administrative Secretary, is responsible for general management and administration of the Department’s seven operating budget divisions, six capital funds, and approximately 105 employees. This encompasses management of most of the City’s infrastructure.

The other portion of this Division is made up of the Municipal Services Manager and an Administrative Secretary. This group is responsible for the management of the Municipal Services Division of Public Works. There are four sections in the Municipal Services Division: Streets and Sewer Maintenance, Urban Forestry, Fleet Maintenance and Traffic & Parking. Another responsibility of this group is to manage the Municipal Services Center located on North Jasper Street.

Engineering Division

The Engineering Division is responsible for the City’s engineering functions involving streets, sidewalks, storm water, water, sanitary sewer and special assigned projects. Services associated with these functions include management of design and construction projects, surveying, design, inspection, permitting, interagency and private project coordination, development review, technical support and responding to citizen complaints. The Division maintains inventories, files, records and maps relating to the City’s infrastructure for streets, drainage, water and sewer systems used in informing citizens, private consultants and other agencies about the existence, availability, condition and / or location of City services.

Municipal Services Division

Streets and Sewers

The Streets and Sewers Section is responsible for the maintenance of the City’s 740 lane miles of streets and 360 miles of sewers. Other functions include street cleaning, grading alleys, sidewalk removal and replacement, utility cut repairs, sewer cleaning, ditching and culvert installation, sewer repairs, and snow and ice control. This Section responds to over 2,500 citizen requests annually. In summary, this Section is responsible for the maintenance of the streets, alleyways, rights of way, drainage and sewer infrastructure.

Urban Forestry

The Urban Forestry Section is responsible for conducting tree hazard abatement, reforestation, and improvement in general of the urban forest on City property. It is also responsible for building and grounds maintenance at the Municipal Services Center, Central Park, and other City owned properties and right-of-ways which includes mowing of over 400 acres, as well as participating in snow and ice control operations.

Fleet Maintenance

The Fleet Maintenance Section is responsible for maintaining vehicles and equipment for all Departments of the City with the assistance of modern Fleet Maintenance software. This Section maintains a fleet of approximately 310 vehicles and other pieces of equipment. Bid specifications are written for new equipment and purchases are made for such commodities as fuel, oil, parts, tires, shop supplies, etc. This Section is responsible for monitoring the Equipment Replacement Fund (ERF) and the performance of contractual and warranty services. Fleet Maintenance is also responsible for managing and maintaining a parts inventory as well as the City’s automated fuel and inventory tank gauging systems. This Section also prepares equipment and necessary forms for removal/sale of surplus equipment. Fleet Maintenance maintains active files for all Fleet equipment and ensures that all equipment is registered with the appropriate state authorities and guarantees that any equipment which requires a state inspection meets or exceeds the standard(s) for safe operation.

Traffic & Parking

The Traffic & Parking Division’s primary function is to see that the traffic control elements required to maintain orderly, efficient, and safe traffic flow through the City are properly designed, installed and maintained. This includes all traffic signals, traffic control signs, street name signs and pavement markings. This Division also maintains the downtown street lights, subway and structure lighting throughout the City, some residential area lighting systems, and the emergency warning siren system. The Traffic & Parking Division provides oversight to Illinois Power’s street lighting programs and the Motor Vehicle Parking System.

Under the direction of the Traffic & Parking, the Motor Vehicle Parking System services and maintains all on-street parking, surface parking lots, and parking garages owned and administered by the City of Decatur. Included in these responsibilities are the maintenance of parking meters and ticket dispensers and the collection of revenues.

Contacts

Public Works Administration

Matt Newell, Director of Public Works
mnewell@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2747

Tara Bachstein, Administrative Secretary
tbachstein@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2747

Engineering

Paul Caswell, City Engineer
pcaswell@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2747

Griffin Enyart, Assistant City Engineer
genyart@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2747

Don Cisco, Supervisor of Technical Services
dcisco@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2747

Municipal Services

Dan Mendenall, Municipal Services Manager
dmendenall@decaturil.gov
(217)875-4820

Paula Kramer, Administrative Secretary
pkramer@decaturil.gov
(217)875-4820

Randy Callison, City Forester & Property Supervisor
rcallison@decaturil.gov
(217)875-4820

Mark DeVivo, Fleet Supervisor
mdevivo@decaturil.gov
(217)875-5718

Water Production

Keith Alexander, Water Production Manager
kalexander@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2863

Concetta Guyse, Administrative Secretary
cguyse@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2873

Randy Weaver, Water Production Maintenance Supervisor
rweaver@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2830

Chaundra Smith, Water Production Operations Supervisor
csmith@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2833

Lake Services

Joe Nihiser, Lake Maintenance Supervisor
jnihiser@decaturil.gov
(217)424-2837

Water Services

Randy Miller, Water Services Manager
rmiller@decaturil.gov
(217)875-5705

Andrew Whitehead, Water Distribution Supervisor
awhitehead@decaturil.gov
(217)875-5705

Joni Walmsley, Water Metering Supervisor
jwalmsley@decaturil.gov
(217)875-5705